When your phone syncs, your Google apps refresh their data, and you get notifications about updates.
By default, apps made by Google sync automatically. You can turn auto-sync off and back on for individual apps.
Whether other apps (not made by Google) can sync varies by app.
To see if your other apps can auto-sync:
Review the list of accounts:
Turning off auto-sync doesn’t remove the app or your data. It only stops the app from automatically refreshing your data.
Turn off the apps you don’t want to auto-sync.
For example, sync your Calendar and Gmail but don't sync Drive.
Turn Automatically sync app data off
.
To receive emails, calendar reminders, or other notifications from Google apps, you’ll need to sync manually.
Select an issue to see troubleshooting steps: